BEST & WORST of Golden Globes 2013!

January 14, 2013 — 2 Comments

So, the Golden Globes were last night and there was some AMAZING hair and some not so amazing.

The Golden Globes are the “fun” awards show. There are celebrities from both TV and Film, there is dinner and lot’s of champagne. The dress code is generally a little more relaxed and less formal than the Oscars. So, with that said, here are my TOP PICKS for up-do’s, down-do’s, and everything in between.

My favorite down-do’s are Claire Danes and Lea Michele. What I love about these looks is that they’re glamorous but casual. A lot of the hairstyles that were worn down were a little too overworked for me, for this particular award show. Claire and Lea look effortless and allow the dress to be the star.

ImageImage

My least favortie down-do is Kelly Osbourne’s gray-purple, over-worked “Dame Edna” style. This “Fashion Police” host is clearly going for a look, but it’s a little been there, done that. We get it, you’re different.

Image

My favorite up-do is Julianne Moore’s elegant but simple french twist. It’s so classic and understated. I love that this up-do adds to her whole look, but doesn’t overshadow or overpower her dress. It’s perfect.

ImageImage

My least favorite up-do is Amy Adam’s vintage-ish look. It looks a little crispy and overworked. For me, this does not add much to the dress. It’s also too formal and heavy-handed for the relaxed atmosphere of the Golden Globes.

Image

Oh, yeah, and Helena Bonham Carter but that goes without saying…I love her as an actress, but I think she forgot to return her Les Miserables wig!

Imagetumblr_mfq66rx5vQ1qzoaqio1_1280

My Favorite short-do is Michelle Dockery’s wavy layered bob. It has just the right amount of layers to keep it from looking boxy. It’s soft and casual and let’s this detailed dress shine.

Image

My least favorite short-do is Jodi Foster’s blunt bob. This shape only makes her jaw line look more square. It also does not compliment her glitzy dress. It’s flat, boring and misses the mark in my opinion.

Image

Those are my top and bottom picks for Golden Globe hair styles. I’d love to hear from you if you feel I’ve missed anyone in either category! Vote below for your favorite hair from my picks.

2 responses to BEST & WORST of Golden Globes 2013!

  1. 

    Brian — I can’t help but notice — no bangs… are they out??

    • 

      Bangs are absolutely still in. In fact, Lea Michele has bangs but has them cleverly hidden away. I also saw Zooey Deschanel and Tina Fey with full-on bangs, but they just weren’t my favorite hairstyles.

Leave a Reply

